Board of Zoning Appeals

Purpose and Composition

The Board of Zoning Appeals considers appeals to variances and exceptions from the Zoning Ordinance.

The BZA composition includes seven regular members and two alternate members. One member may be from City Council, and one member must be a Planning Commissioner. All members must be city residents and a qualified elector. BZA members serve three-year terms and are appointed by City Council. For more information about the BZA, contact the Building Department at 248-449-9902. 

Meeting location
Northville City Hall, 215 W. Main St.
Public invited to attend

Agendas and minutes
Current agenda and minutes available on the agenda and minutes webpage
Archived minutes available here 

2024 meeting dates
Generally, the BZA meets the first Wednesday of each month at 7pm

For meeting dates click here
For information on submitting a BZA appeal application, click here.

Current member list
Term expires
Tom Mroz 7-1-25
Stephen Calkins 7-1-26
John Callahan, Secretary 7-1-25
Ryan McKindles, Chair 7-1-24
Stephen Ott, Vice-Chair 7-1-25
Daniel Stedem 7-1-26
Donna Tinberg, PC Member 6-30-26 
Leanie Bayly, Alternate 7-1-24
 Darlene Bayly 7-1-24 
Joseph Corriveau, Alternate 7-1-24
Andrew Krenz, Council Liaison  
 John Carter, Alternate   

Governing documents
Board of Zoning Appeals By Laws
Zoning Ordinance Article 25
PA 110 of 2006