Awards and Recognition

Honoring Members of the Police Force
Police sergeant awarded for his actions in a hostage situation
Sgt. Matthew Clemence received a Certificate of Merit from the Canton Police Department at its July 30 (2019) Awards and Citations Ceremony.

The award was presented for his response to a crime that occurred on Jan. 25, 2018. At that time, a subject entered a bank in Canton Township with the intent to rob it. The rapid police response caused the suspect to barricade himself inside the bank and take three hostages.

Clemence, a member of the Western Wayne County Hostage Negotiation Team, responded to the scene. After several hours of negotiations with members of the Western-Wayne Special Operations and Hostage Negotiation teams along with FBI agents, the suspect released all three hostages. A short time later, the suspect was taken into custody and the incident ended peacefully.

“I am honored that Canton Public Safety recognized the team for this incident. These events are not very common and we train monthly to be prepared. I am pleased with the way our team responded to this negotiation,” said Clemence.

“Sgt. Clemence did an outstanding job and is truly deserving of this award,” said City of Northville Police Chief Alan Maciag.

Police Officer of the Year - Cpt. Dustin Krueger
Captain Dustin Krueger has been named Police Officer of the Year by his peers on the Northville Police Department in recognition of outstanding police service in 2018. He was officially presented with the award at the June 17, 2019 City Council meeting. Captain Dustin Krueger 

He has been an officer with the force since 1993, and served his entire career as an officer with Northville. He became sergeant in 2001, was promoted to captain in 2014, and served as interim police chief for several months in 2018. “He rose to the challenge and fostered a positive work environment,” his peers said.

He has instructed his fellow officers in many tactical drills, including active shooter and use of the TASER. He served as Western Wayne County Mobile Field Force Squad Leader from 2011 to 2015.

“I am honored and humbled,” Cpt. Krueger said of the award. “Everything we do in law enforcement is a team effort. I have a lot of men and women behind me who have helped me achieve this success.”
Awards 2019

Awards - 2019

  Awarded for the saving of a human life

Officer Peter Davis (6th)
Officer Brian Dogonski (3rd)
Sgt. Gregory Hannewald (4th)

Captain Dustin Krueger (2nd)

Annual Mothers Against Drunk Driving Award for an officer's 
efforts in enforcement of impaired driving 

Officer Andrew Kirby (5th)

Officer Thomas Barber (1st)
Sgt. Kenneth Delano (3rd)

Sgt. Kenneth Delano (1st)
Officer Matthew Duggins (1st)
Sgt. Gregory Hannewald (1st)

Officer Matthew Duggins
Officer Scott Groff
Officer Melissa Vernon

Detective David Randall

Awarded for each five years of full-time police service.

Captain Dustin Krueger  25 Years
Officer Matthew Duggins 5 Years

The awards presentation takes place annually prior to the Memorial Day Parade.